Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Bonk's Adventure (TurboGrafx-16)

Bonk's Adventure review (TG16)

Reviewed on December 29, 2003

Hudson made a departure from their axe and boomerang throwing Higgins play mechanics, and decided that Bonk would be equipped with all his necessary weaponry right on his person. When you first play the game, and watch your onscreen character in all his cuteness bashing equally cutesy enemies with his noggin, you won’t be able to hide your smile. Much of Bonk’s appeal lies in his ability to be endearing but not nauseatingly so.
Masters's avatar
Super Star Soldier (TurboGrafx-16)

Super Star Soldier review (TG16)

Reviewed on December 29, 2003

The challenge in SSS is very high, and very fair. The boss patterns are clever and taxing, and as I intimated earlier, the smaller scale of everything in motion on the screen simply allows for more of everything on the screen. More bullets, more enemies, trickier dodging patterns. And just as important: more bullet slipping on your part: your smaller ship allows you to pull off all manner of godlike projectile-evading mastery.
Masters's avatar
Ninja Spirit (TurboGrafx-16)

Ninja Spirit review (TG16)

Reviewed on December 29, 2003

The main character’s name is Moonlight (not the most fearsome moniker, true enough, but full of, er, grace). His father has been killed and Moonlight seeks revenge. The opening scene is nothing special - it certainly isn’t as eye-catching as the one in Revenge of Shinobi, and the fact that it’s unapologetically cliché does not help. The saving grace is witnessing Moonlight’s transmogrifying into a wolf. I know we all have to do it sometime, but it’s so satisfying watching a ninja do it.
Masters's avatar
Night Creatures (TurboGrafx-16)

Night Creatures review (TG16)

Reviewed on December 29, 2003

The premise of the game is surprisingly compelling. You are a farmer, stricken with a curse. You were bitten by a bat that turned out to be Hecate, the Queen of Darkness. You must hunt down and destroy this nefarious night creature that afflicted you thus, or die trying. Or worse yet, stay alive, but take too long in your mission, and become a night creature yourself. Oooh! Biting irony!
Masters's avatar
New Adventure Island (TurboGrafx-16)

New Adventure Island review (TG16)

Reviewed on December 29, 2003

As you fight through the Hudson-trademark, vibrant, ultra-colourful scenarios, you’ll encounter fuchsia snails, yellow cobras, purple frogs, and green clovers. Alright, the clovers bit was just to see if you were paying attention. Deadly, unattended campfires, skulls surrounded by flames, and the mainstay of the Adventure Island enemy roster - the invisible web-climbing spiders, will all chime in to make life difficult for you.
Masters's avatar
Ka-Ge-Ki: Fists of Steel (Genesis)

Ka-Ge-Ki: Fists of Steel review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 29, 2003

Hearken back to the days of Street Fighter II and Mortal Kombat. Think of the fantastic gameplay, endless amounts of moves and combo’s, the stunning backdrops – the memories are endless. Remember how long we waited for them on our favourite consoles, and how sweet the first game was once we got to finally play it. Hold that thought for a moment --- and then cast your mind back a little further to the time before all of that happened. Which beat-em’-up used to fulfil your excitement before these ...
djy8c's avatar
Desert Strike: Return to the Golf (Genesis)

Desert Strike: Return to the Golf review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 28, 2003

Back in the unforgettable 16-bit days when the Sega Genesis was fighting against the Super Nintendo for popularity, a classic series was born. My dad bought me Desert Strike for Christmas and at first glance I was a little disappointed; I didn't think I would like this kind of game. I would soon find out that I was more wrong than I thought possible.
retro's avatar
Mortal Kombat (Genesis)

Mortal Kombat review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 28, 2003

The one-on-one fighting genre is one of the oldest among them all. Anyone old enough to remember gaming in the eighties will no doubt have stumbled upon Yie-Ar Kung Fu, IK+ or Way of the Exploding fist to name a few. As we journeyed into the nineties, Capcom championed the field with the legendary Street Fighter and its multitude of sequels. Its place at the top of the tree hasn’t been unchallenged however, with its main contender being in the form of Mortal Kombat.
djy8c's avatar
Spawn: Armageddon (PlayStation 2)

Spawn: Armageddon review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 27, 2003

On the one hand, it's good that Spawn can mostly focus on shooting when the situation calls for it. There's hardly a pause as he empties one weapon's chamber and switches to the next, which is good if you've got a giant crab or whatever bearing down on you. However, some of the weapons understandably affect Spawn's agility.
honestgamer's avatar
Divine Sealing (Genesis)

Divine Sealing review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 26, 2003

Its all Masters’ fault. Let me explain…
djy8c's avatar
Assault (Atari 2600)

Assault review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 25, 2003

I'll admit, when I first powered up Bomb's Assault cartridge, I was prepared to hate it. After discovering that it has a quirky control system that required you to push the joystick up to shoot, I was prepared to really burn it in this review. When I saw that the enemies looked just like the ones in Imagic's Demon Attack, only drawn with a dull crayon, I was prepared to give it a 3 at best.
ddsilver's avatar
Galaga (Arcade)

Galaga review (ARC)

Reviewed on December 24, 2003

I don't know many people my age who haven't played Galaga at one time or another. Galaga is a classic space shooter in which you control a spaceship at the bottom of the screen and attempt to exterminate all the aliens that are moving back and forth in the galaxy above you. Galaga wasn't the first game of its kind (Space Invaders and Galaxian paved the road for it to shoot down), but it was definitely the best of its kind back in the day.
retro's avatar
Artillery Duel (Atari 2600)

Artillery Duel review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 24, 2003

The creators of Artillery Duel, Xonox, were most noted for their gimmick of “double ender” cartridges. The “double ender” cartridge looked more or less like two Atari cartridges fused end to end, and you could insert one side or the other depending on what game you wanted to play. Two games for the price of one, as it were. There were various combinations, and Artillery Duel appeared no less than 3 times in the Xonox collection coupled with the lamentable Chuck Norris Superkicks...
ddsilver's avatar
Resident Evil (GameCube)

Resident Evil review (GCN)

Reviewed on December 23, 2003

Welcome to the world of survival horror
djy8c's avatar
Armor Ambush (Atari 2600)

Armor Ambush review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 23, 2003

M-Network, the not-so-secret identity of Mattel Electronics, makers of the Intellivision, brought several Intellivision ports over to the 2600. Today's subject was a port of Intellivision's answer to Atari's Combat, Armor Battle. Although this port, retitled Armor Ambush, doesn't come close to achieving the depth of gameplay provided by Armor Battle, it is still an excellent port, and definitely provides some much needed depth to the Combat formula.
ddsilver's avatar
3-D Tic-Tac-Toe (Atari 2600)

3-D Tic-Tac-Toe review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 23, 2003

I sat down to spend a little quality time with the games of yore on the venerable Atari 2600. First out of the box was 3-D Tic-Tac-Toe. This was one of the ''launch titles'' for the Atari 2600. However, when held up to such classics of that time, games such as Combat, Adventure, Night Driver and the seminal Space Invaders, 3D Tic-Tac-Toe doesn't hold up very well.
ddsilver's avatar
Base Wars (NES)

Base Wars review (NES)

Reviewed on December 22, 2003

If the tedious fights were taken out of Base Wars, or if the faulty computer intelligence had been fixed, a better baseball game would have been produced. As it stands though, Base Wars is just an inferior hybrid.
sgreenwell's avatar
Wardner (Genesis)

Wardner review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 22, 2003

Wardner strikes a blow for overweight kids everywhere. Because the hero of Wardner is… well, fat. And he’s not one of those fat kids looking (illogically) for a supermodel either; his girl is also pretty portly. There’s nothing more annoying than someone of the George Costanza mindset: ''I can’t date her because she’s bald.'' But, you're bald! (Don’t worry, I won’t digress any further into the universal applications of my Seinfeldian knowledge.)
Masters's avatar
Valis: The Fantasm Soldier (Genesis)

Valis: The Fantasm Soldier review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 22, 2003

I didn't even really want to review Valis. Another reviewer (we'll call him ''Zigfried,'' a close personal friend of mine), showed me his 3/10 opinion on the game, but he pointed out that for the sake of justice, we have to offset the ridiculously high scores for the game seen around the net with our low scores, so here is my review. You could probably call this review: OUT FOR JUSTICE if it was a film, but it's not, so let's forget I mentioned it.
Masters's avatar
Twin Cobra (Genesis)

Twin Cobra review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 22, 2003

Twin Cobra is Raiden with boxes. It's also an overhead helicopter shoot-em-up. A shoot-em-up that is mediocre at its absolute best, for a system that was inundated with shooters, some of them phenomenal. Without proceeding any further, it's safe to say that if you're not a fan of the genre, you shouldn't give this game even a moment's notice.
Masters's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482] [483]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher. 1516702880