Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Wings of Wor (Genesis)

Wings of Wor review (GEN)

Reviewed on April 13, 2004

Shooters on the Genesis have let us pilot just about every form of craft ever conceived. Count the numerous times we have solely saved the galaxy at the controls of some futuristic ship, armed to the teeth with the most advanced lasers. Remember how we destroyed entire forces, in our planes and helicopters, leaving tanks smoking in our wake. Gynoug - or Wings of Wor - strays from this well trodden path, giving us the chance to don wings and take to the sky, to rid the planet Iccus of an evil mut...
djy8c's avatar
Wings of Wor (Genesis)

Wings of Wor review (GEN)

Reviewed on April 13, 2004

Welcome Wor. Brace up, you've got a nasty business ahead to be sure. Six levels of side-scrolling shooting action await you. Spread your ethereal wings and steel your warrior's heart, because this Genesis mission offers up more sheer bullet count -- more grotesquerie -- than you'll likely be prepared for.
Masters's avatar
Bump 'n' Jump (Arcade)

Bump 'n' Jump review (ARC)

Reviewed on April 12, 2004

When I was young, I liked car crashes. In theory. Cars still scared me especially when I had major streets to cross, but I enjoyed signs depicting dangerous conditions on roads and dreamed of participating in an accident one day, not fully appreciating what this meant. The closest I came was falling off a Big Wheel, which ended in tears and a band-aid. Still, I certainly seemed to have more fun with cars than my mother, who preferred complaining about bad drivers and kids running out in the stre...
aschultz's avatar
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (GameCube)

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers review (GCN)

Reviewed on April 12, 2004

One ring to rule them all
bloomer's avatar
Wizard of Wor (Arcade)

Wizard of Wor review (ARC)

Reviewed on April 12, 2004

In 1980, Midway released into US arcades a coin-op maze game which was to become a cultural phenomenon. It was intuitive to play, cute and brilliantly designed, and was even as popular with the girls as it was with the boys. That game was the Namco-designed Pacman.
bloomer's avatar
Hokuto no Ken: Seiki Matsukyu Seishi Densetsu (PlayStation)

Hokuto no Ken: Seiki Matsukyu Seishi Densetsu review (PSX)

Reviewed on April 12, 2004

Yeah, I had seen quite a bit of the TV show, and it was alright. The movie sucked. But the video game, OH MY FRIGGIN' GOD. Call me a "Fist" fan, effective immediately!
zigfried's avatar
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (GameCube)

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers review (GCN)

Reviewed on April 08, 2004

The trouble with The Two Towers, which chronicles the middle chapter (beginning with Frodo still in the care of The Fellowship) of the series, is that it pays so much obvious loving attention to the movie it is borne of, that the gameplay elements seem an afterthought, left under-ripe and wholly unsatisfying. Powerful cinematic moments such as The Battle at Helm's Deep are reduced to novelty, superfluous small screen re-enactments followed up rather clumsily by limited, repetitive Golden Axe-esque gameplay. You'll remember Golden Axe? Perhaps not -- it's a very old game. It featured three characters: one fast, one strong, and one in-between. And so, meet Legolas, Gimli, and Aragorn.
Masters's avatar
Disney/Pixar Finding Nemo (GameCube)

Disney/Pixar Finding Nemo review (GCN)

Reviewed on April 08, 2004

Finding Nemo alternates between being boring and bad. Lest you conclude simply that I was not the intended target market, consider two things: firstly, the movie managed the enviable task of capturing the attention and imaginations of children and adults alike. And secondly, my young nephew was as bored with the proceedings as I was, turning quickly to his Gameboy Advance to play some of his old games. Kids like new. Finding Nemo's inability to engage cannot be understated.
Masters's avatar
OutRun (Genesis)

OutRun review (GEN)

Reviewed on April 07, 2004

Back in the mid-eighties, just as console gaming was being offered to the world. You could bet your life that any arcade you went in had an Outrun machine, whichever one of its few incarnations it may have been. From the standing cabinet with a steering wheel and pedals, to the full blown sit-down Ferrari red monster that looked like the car you drove in the game Ė you could be sure it was there.
djy8c's avatar
Hot Potato! (Game Boy Advance)

Hot Potato! review (GBA)

Reviewed on April 07, 2004

In Hot Potato, a group of however many players you want gathers in a circle, with the required equipment being: a small beanbag or ball or even an actual potato, some sort of musical recording and an appropriate playback device, and an impartial outsider. One usually finds this unbiased observer is a nursery school teacher, since most often the group of players is a nursery school class. The players proceed to pass, or throw -- you should decide at the outset what types of deliveries are permitt...
denouement's avatar
Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius (SNES)

Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius review (SNES)

Reviewed on April 06, 2004

Iím sure that horizontally-scrolling Super Nintendo shooter Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius has a plot. After all, if you wait after starting up the game, you will be taken into a cinema scene. While the Japanese words and voice are both indecipherable to me, it is quite apparent that the game is trying to give me some form of story.
overdrive's avatar
Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3 (Xbox)

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3 review (XBX)

Reviewed on April 06, 2004

In one area, for example, the game warned me as I snuck through an alley that I should be careful not to be caught in a crossfire. Good advice, I figured, so I took things slowly and carefully. I made it through the alley just fine, so I signaled for my men to follow. And so they did, but they apparently galloped through and suddenly I lost one of my team as terrorist guns blazed. I dashed back and took out one of the terrorists myself, or losses may have been even more significant.
honestgamer's avatar
Boulder Dash EX (Game Boy Advance)

Boulder Dash EX review (GBA)

Reviewed on April 06, 2004

Though Boulder Dash is not the most famous franchise name in the video game universe, it actually has a long and boring history. Read on to find out more!
denouement's avatar
Virtua Fighter 4: Evolution (PlayStation 2)

Virtua Fighter 4: Evolution review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 06, 2004

Not one of the crew feels half as limber as he or she ought to. When your opponent is a few feet away, it's not uncommon to watch both characters limp toward one another on-screen for a second or two before either is within range of the other. Even when it comes time to exchange blows, things don't speed up quite enough. The fastest fighters can get in a few good punches in short order, but every kick I've found takes long enough that you'll be tempted to hop up and make some microwave popcorn every time your character attacks with a roundhouse.
honestgamer's avatar
Color a Dinosaur (NES)

Color a Dinosaur review (NES)

Reviewed on April 04, 2004

So here we are on the day known 'round the world as April Fools Day, and what game is considered a bigger joke among denizens of the gaming world than Color a Dinosaur? I believe I could bet that at some point in their childhoods everyone involved in the development of this game either ate rusty nails and paint chips, jumped off into a ravine because they thought they could fly, put plastic bags over their heads and had to be saved from asphyxiation by their parents, or did something that involv...
snowdragon's avatar
I-Ninja (GameCube)

I-Ninja review (GCN)

Reviewed on April 04, 2004

Even when the ninja falls down a pit, or collapses from exhaustion after a difficult fight where the enemies get in too many hits, it's difficult to turn off the game just because you know there's something cool waiting just around the corner. The game accomplishes this in a number of ways. First, it keeps things fresh with all the different objectives already discussed. And second, it has a power-up system that fits the game and becomes almost instantly addictive.
honestgamer's avatar
Hellfire (Genesis)

Hellfire review (GEN)

Reviewed on April 03, 2004

This review has big plans. It tells me it wants to be the most useful review Iíve written so far. Iíve written some pretty ones, and some gushy ones, and a good share of tripe, along with the odd nostalgic recollection. But never something this entirely useful. Because letís face it: the only way youíll even give Hellfire a second glance even at the miniscule prices it will sell for at a pawn shop, is if youíre a hardcore horizontal shooter fan. And so you are that. And so, almost certainly, you wonít hesitate to give up your McDonaldís apple pie money for Hellfire in order to get your 16-bit blast on. I canít stop you. I wonít even try.
Masters's avatar
Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (GameCube)

Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour review (GCN)

Reviewed on April 01, 2004

As the meter fills toward the left, you can press the 'B' button instead of the 'A' button. This is a subtle but very important difference. While pressing 'A' causes the game to hold you by the hand and automatically give you a good swing, pressing the 'B' button puts the control more directly in your hands. While you are more likely to slice the ball and send it into a nearby bunker, you also have additional options.
honestgamer's avatar
Hellfire (Genesis)

Hellfire review (GEN)

Reviewed on March 31, 2004

Being fronted with the one-man-against-the-universe plot isnít something unfamiliar when playing any of the multitude of shooters on the Genesis. Hellfire - one of the many arcade shooter ports here on the Genesis Ė isnít any exception, quite the same in fact. Set adrift from your mothership armed with only your regular weapon and the devastating, but limited, Hellfire laser, you are expected to save the universe from its impending doom.
djy8c's avatar
1941: Counter Attack (SuperGrafx)

1941: Counter Attack review (SGX)

Reviewed on March 30, 2004

On the surface, there really wasnít that much wrong with Capcomís first two World War II-based shooters. Both 1942 and 1943 had loads of fast action complete with an unbelievable number of planes and other vessels quivering with the uncontrollable urge to blast your little plane from the sky. But after playing those two classics from the days of yore for an extended period of time, some major problems began to emerge.
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.