Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Theresia (DS)

Theresia review (DS)

Reviewed on January 13, 2009

There are no zombies after your brains, no monsters trying to chop you up, no aliens intent on mass reproduction, and no battles. Yet Theresia is a fascinating (point and click) horror adventure, that kept me playing for hours at a time, until I had uncovered all its secrets and reached the very satisfying ending of two complex stories.
threetimes's avatar
Animal Crossing: City Folk (Wii)

Animal Crossing: City Folk review (WII)

Reviewed on January 10, 2009

Australian's buying this game should beware - the much advertised transfer of your Animal Crossing Wild World character to this new game will not work. Why? Because our version of the DS game was a re-labled US version. While the DS games have region codes, it usually doesn't matter because it isn't region locked. Nintendo of Australia took a shortcut a few years ago, and this means that PAL copies of Animal Crossing "Let's Go To The City" will not recognise our copies of Wild World.
jerec's avatar
Yggdra Union (PSP)

Yggdra Union review (PSP)

Reviewed on January 10, 2009

The game's subtitle has always been “We'll Never Fight Alone.” In this PSP port of Yggdra Union, you're just a little less forsaken. A few new characters expand your party and the ways to navigate through the adventure. Larger armies subtly change the dynamics of battle. Additional methods of restoring life make it a hair more forgiving than the GBA original. However, Yggdra Union is still a methodical, exacting strategy game that unmercifully punishes any mistake. It walks a...
woodhouse's avatar
Lumines Supernova (PlayStation 3)

Lumines Supernova review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 10, 2009

Each stage is played in a series of “skins.” These skins make up a background and a musical track. Every time you do anything, whether it be moving a block or erasing a stack, the music reacts. the background pulses and shifts. As you stay alive, the skin changes, so that playing the game becomes less an attempt to get lots of points and more an attempt to stay alive to see as many interesting skins as possible.
zippdementia's avatar
Valkyria Chronicles (PlayStation 3)

Valkyria Chronicles review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 09, 2009

Valkyria Chronicles looks like a water color painting in motion. Whoever made this artistic decision is a genius, because watercolors make anything look amazing, whether it be a stream or a pile of rocks, and here you’re seeing whole countrysides and full out warfare. The baleful music and the beautiful art blend together to create a nostalgic feel that leaves you coming back for the same broken mechanics and repetitious dialogue.
zippdementia's avatar
Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure (DS)

Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure review (DS)

Reviewed on January 09, 2009

Every once in a while, something will come along and completely blow me away and surprise me by its quality. Video games tend to do this every so often, and recently I was witness to this very phenomenon occurring. There was a game released for the Sony Playstation a while back named Rhapsody, a cute strategy RPG game that got by on its musical charm and unique storyline.
psychopenguin's avatar
Meteos Wars (Xbox 360)

Meteos Wars review (X360)

Reviewed on January 08, 2009

When I first started playing this game, I felt like I was being dropped into the fastest level of Tetris with no warning. While I now feel I've gotten the hang of things, it still moves fast enough to demand all my concentration in order to top my computer opponent. While each contest only lasts three minutes, that time seems an eternity as I frantically try to keep from being overwhelmed by the blocks quickly filling my side of the screen, while attempting to craft large enough combos to put the computer in a world of hurt.
overdrive's avatar
Final Fight Guy (SNES)

Final Fight Guy review (SNES)

Reviewed on January 07, 2009

What the player actually gets is the exact same game as the original SNES version with one difference — Cody is gone and replaced with Guy. Yep, that’s it. The fourth level doesn't find its way back into the game and there still is no two-player mode. But, uh, you do get to play with Guy and that has to amount to something, right?
overdrive's avatar
Braid (Xbox 360)

Braid review (X360)

Reviewed on January 07, 2009

it’s like Wardner meets Prince of Persia, with time travel shenanigans.
JANUS2's avatar
TrackMania DS (DS)

TrackMania DS review (DS)

Reviewed on January 06, 2009

The sulky shot soon turned into a toast. I have no idea how the Scots at Firebrand have managed it, but Trackmania DS is a triumph. I can’t help feel this may have been to spite me.
EmP's avatar
The King of Fighters Collection: The Orochi Saga (PlayStation 2)

The King of Fighters Collection: The Orochi Saga review (PS2)

Reviewed on January 04, 2009

You could, in fact, buy the entire compilation for ‘98 alone, and not a single person would blame you. But included is five years of iconic team battling all held together by an over-branching plot that would do numerous RPGs proud, the trip back in time is indeed appreciated.
EmP's avatar
Perfect Dark Zero (Xbox 360)

Perfect Dark Zero review (X360)

Reviewed on January 04, 2009

Co-op modes commonly up the enemy count with the inclusion of a second player, and as well they should. Taking a friend in tow demands more targets to aim at, and Zero obligates. It obliges in the form of crippling overkill.
EmP's avatar
Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition (Wii)

Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition review (WII)

Reviewed on January 03, 2009

Most people have played an earlier version of this game and enjoyed it. Some couldn't get enough and others were content with one play through. This game was so popular that the game was released three times. The original GameCube release had great character models, you could see the wrinkles and dirt on their face; however, it was lacking in bonus content. The PlayStation 2 release had an abundant amount of bonus content including Separate Ways, Assignment Ada, and Mercenaries modes. Though the...
TomatoMan's avatar
Chrono Trigger (DS)

Chrono Trigger review (DS)

Reviewed on January 02, 2009

It’s always difficult to cast an objective eye over a game more than a decade old, especially one as celebrated as Chrono Trigger. Nostalgia often has the effect of wearing rose-tinted glasses, but I think this revival on the DS (a full fourteen years later) really does prove Chrono Trigger to be an all-time classic. Ironically, it’s the additional new bonus dungeons and arena mode that leave the most to be desired.
PAJ89's avatar
Shadow Hearts: Covenant (PlayStation 2)

Shadow Hearts: Covenant review (PS2)

Reviewed on January 01, 2009

I didn't know what to think of this game. A lot of people are conflicted on whether it's truly an upgrade over the original Shadow Hearts. As someone who was blown away by the quality of that game, I was curious to see if the sequel could live up to it. And boy, did it. Not only does it surpass Shadow Hearts in my eyes, it has become one of, if not the best, video games I have ever played in my entire life. From amazing graphics to a varied and rich soundtrack, I was completely blown away by eve...
psychopenguin's avatar
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl (PC)

S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl review (PC)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

Stalker is so far removed from the relentless fright-a-minute conventions of the genre that it somehow works on a much higher level than any of its competitors. A staggering majority of Stalker takes place in wide, open and relatively calm outdoor expanses. But the atmosphere never lets up; it only shifts from mood to mood. It's unsettling for different reasons, and on the occasions where it throws the real chills at you, the effect is mind-blowing.
Lewis's avatar
Thunder Force VI (PlayStation 2)

Thunder Force VI review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

It's obvious that Sega and the former Technosoft employees who worked on this project still love the same scenes that I loved ten, fifteen, seventeen years ago. That reassures me; my fascination with such details was clearly no accident. For children who have grown up, for people who stopped embellishing in their minds and only accept what's "real"... Thunder Force 6 makes those moments real — no imagination required!
zigfried's avatar
The Longest Journey (PC)

The Longest Journey review (PC)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

About a week ago, I got introduced to The Longest (-winded) Journey, which people told me was the best point-and-click adventure game ever made, and that I would instantly love it the second I began playing it. So I downloaded it, installed it, and played about halfway through. What I found is that The Longest Journey definitely lives up to its name, but that it definitely is NOT the god-adventure I was told it would be, and is DEFINITELY not the best adventure game of all time.
timrod's avatar
Fallout 3 (Xbox 360)

Fallout 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

War. War never changes.
johnny_cairo's avatar
Rogue Galaxy (PlayStation 2)

Rogue Galaxy review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 30, 2008

It also doesn't help that the two companions you can have at your side at any time are idiots. I didn't notice those guys going for charge attacks when necessary, leaving me to do that myself while they ineffectively flailed at the monsters. They also didn't seem all that keen on blocking attacks or any sort of evasive action. Instead, they'd occasionally request to use a healing item or ability when they felt that'd be a good change of pace from blindly running at monsters and attacking with all the grace and style of a drunken berserker.
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.