Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Retro Game Challenge (DS)

Retro Game Challenge review (DS)

Reviewed on February 16, 2009

Retro Game Challenge features eight games in all. That doesn't sound like much, and in some ways it isn't. After all, we've seen compilations of classic games that boasted three, four... even seven or eight times that number. Keep in mind, though, that these are original efforts. More importantly, they're original efforts that—for the most part—are fun to play today while still retaining that distinct retro flavor (including a score tally that mentions how many objects you shooted and an innkeeper that asks you if you feel asleep).
honestgamer's avatar
Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine (Wii)

Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine review (WII)

Reviewed on February 15, 2009

Curse you, Bobby Flay! No disrespect to the other illustrious Iron Chefs of America. Mario Batali is a preeminent expert on authentic Italian cuisine. Cat Cora's distinctive style originates from her Greek and Southern roots. Masuharu Morimoto is a master of all things Japanese, having held his position of Iron Chef in that country's version of the show as well. And Michael Symon, well, he's too new to be sorely missed. But Chef Flay appears first in this pantheon of culinary greatness. H...
woodhouse's avatar
EA Playground (Wii)

EA Playground review (WII)

Reviewed on February 15, 2009

“Includes Dodgeball!” exclaims the cover of EA Playground. I guess in grade school, we all enjoyed pummeling our peers, especially that distinctive thunk of rubber meeting face. However, dodgeball isn't the best game in this bunch, just the most recognizable. This title features seven events in all, but with mixed results. Some really capitalize on originality and simple controls. Others, though, are too basic to really keep you engaged.
woodhouse's avatar
BlackSite: Area 51 (PlayStation 3)

BlackSite: Area 51 review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 15, 2009

Blacksite: Area 51 is just another shooter. You’ve played this game before; you’ve played it better and you‘ve played it worse, but this doesn’t change the fact that, as a title, it simply exists.
EmP's avatar
Castlequest (NES)

Castlequest review (NES)

Reviewed on February 13, 2009

My hero began the game with a whopping 50 lives and there are TONS of vials scattered through the castle worth one bonus life each. However, each life is naught but a fleeting moment in Castlequest's.....uhhh...castle. I found that out in the very first room. I grabbed the blue key right next to me, used it to open the nearby blue door (keys only open doors of their color) and jumped to a ledge right above me. There was an enemy here, so I prepared to stab him with my really tiny sword. Before I could get close enough to complete this task, he fired an arrow at me and I died.
overdrive's avatar
Tonic Trouble (Nintendo 64)

Tonic Trouble review (N64)

Reviewed on February 13, 2009

It’s rare for me to be offended by bad character design, but Tonic Trouble’s protagonist makes me want to shoot somebody.
Suskie's avatar
Swagman (PlayStation)

Swagman review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 12, 2009

What a strange combination. An E (everyone from the age of three upwards) rated game, only released in Europe on the PS1 and Saturn, that was developed by CORE as the game they made after the first Tomb Raider enjoyed such phenomenal success. It features eight year old twins who collect bugs (the insect kind), turn into monsters, and when they are not in monster form, try to defeat Scallywags using the doughty weapons of a torch and a yo-yo. They spend much of their time falling into the Abyss a...
threetimes's avatar
Penumbra Collection (PC)

Penumbra Collection review (PC)

Reviewed on February 11, 2009

In many ways, Penumbra is exactly what horror games should be like. In many others, the inexperience of the developer cuts through the mix a little too clearly for comfort. This flitting between terrifying and tiring leaves a little to be desired, but Penumbra Collection has enough interesting ideas to sail on, if only for the first two segments of its sinister life.
Lewis's avatar
Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia (DS)

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia review (DS)

Reviewed on February 11, 2009

My appreciation for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia never really hit its peak until, after beating the game twice, I went back and tried to play a game in the series that I previously loved (Dawn of Sorrow) only to find the experience hollow, simplistic, and dull. The Castlevania series has survived up to this point by sticking to a pretty routine and unchanging formula, which is fine when the formula in question works. (See also: Zelda.) This newest DS entry is probab...
Suskie's avatar
3 on 3 NHL Arcade (PlayStation 3)

3 on 3 NHL Arcade review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 11, 2009

This game nails the Arcade portion of its title. Shedding all cumbersome rules – offsides, icing, penalties, faceoffs – 3 on 3 NHL Arcade delivers nonstop shots, hard hitting-checks, and silly powerups. The NHL half, though, is not so exciting. No teams, no logos, and no familiar arenas or cities. It's a shallow battle of generic jerseys.
woodhouse's avatar
Silent Hill Origins (PlayStation 2)

Silent Hill Origins review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 10, 2009

For a while now, I've felt that the Silent Hill series is dead. For me at least, the beginning of the end was in Silent Hill 3, a game that moved the horror away from psychological terror and put it squarely into the arena of teen flicks and B-movies. Still, while it may not have been the horror masterpiece the first two games were and eschewed much of the exploration structure of the first two titles, the gameplay structure was mostly still in tact and the game contained a lot of the genuinely ...
m0zart's avatar
Evil Zone (PlayStation)

Evil Zone review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 10, 2009

There is good anime and bad anime, good fighting games and bad fighting games. On the scale, Evil Zone falls somewhere below (way below) Dragon Ball Z in the first category and hovers somewhere to the north west of Smash Brothers in the second.
zippdementia's avatar
Crackdown (Xbox 360)

Crackdown review (X360)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Grand Theft Auto 3 was nice to play... when you weren't doing the missions. You could go wander around the town, steal cars, mess with people, and blow stuff up. Though, if you really wanted to explore more of that game's world, you were forced to complete the missions to open up new sections of the city. Most of the missions consisted of going to Point A, then driving to Point B to pick someone or something up, heading to Point C, and when you're done, returning to Point A. There was a hard mis...
pickhut's avatar
Nuclear Strike (PlayStation)

Nuclear Strike review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Released for our beloved Playstation 1 console in 97. (10 years already?) This is the best chopper game I've played, but that's not saying much. Not to say the game is bad, but it depends on your taste.
G_Dub's avatar
The Fifth Element (PlayStation)

The Fifth Element review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Unbelievable!! Kill cops and aliens (lots), fall off ledges (lots), hear opera music and see Zorg again (a tiny bit).
threetimes's avatar
Armored Core 4 (Xbox 360)

Armored Core 4 review (X360)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

I have never played any other Armored Core game, including the Armored core 4 Playstation 3 version, so none of this review is biased whatsoever. To the review!
G_Dub's avatar
Top Gun: Combat Zones (GameCube)

Top Gun: Combat Zones review (GCN)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Top Gun: Combat Zones is the only flight sim I know of for the Gamecube, and maybe the only one, but I'm not sure. What I am sure of is my review of this game, and that it will help you decide whether or not you'd like to buy, rent, or just play the game. Read on.
G_Dub's avatar
SSX On Tour (GameCube)

SSX On Tour review (GCN)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

This last last gen installment of EA’s popular snowboarding franchise, SSX, is without a doubt the least appreciated, and most underrated game in the series. It’s definitely not without its flaws, but it seems too choked out by its predecessors, and nobody seemed to pick up on its bold new style of snowboarding.
G_Dub's avatar
Image Fight (Arcade)

Image Fight review (ARC)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Used to be a time when shooters graced the arcades, and companies like Irem sat at the top of their craft, producing one solid space-faring saga after another. You don’t have to look beyond their beloved R-Type series to see what I mean. That was a franchise built out of love, yet conveyed with loathing. Methodical, precise, difficult – the series still conjures memories of challenging episodes and unmitigated ardor. But perhaps you’d be surprised to learn that Irem didn’t limit itself to just one grueling shooter franchise. Turns out that there was another. And people have always hated it.
Felix_Arabia's avatar
Image Fight (NES)

Image Fight review (NES)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Image Fight on the NES is absolutely horrible. Or at least that’s what you’re going to believe. This review won’t convince you otherwise. It’s not that my writing won’t move you to think the opposite, but the screenshots will strive to keep you in the dark. The pictures tell the real story, not the words. Please don’t like this game.
Felix_Arabia's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.