Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Devil May Cry 4 (PlayStation 3)

Devil May Cry 4 review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

There reaches a point in any franchise’s history when it peaks, and the creators of the franchise are faced with a dilemma. Do they try and top that success with another game, or do they take their money and run while their reputation is still intact? Inevitably greed makes their decision the former, and inevitably developers seem to think the best way to top a great game is to make one exactly like it.
zippdementia's avatar
Moon (DS)

Moon review (DS)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

It was all a lie. Everything. The history of the world, the origins of religion, the development of modern civilization, our very existence. The conspiracy theorists were right; aliens not only exist, but they’ve been in contact with us all along. Watching, subtly manipulating humanity into what it is today. It’s kind of funny, in a way. They’ve been hiding in plain sight the entire time, but we could never reach them…until a few decades ago. The Apollo 11 mission to the moon was one of the grea...
disco's avatar
EverQuest II: The Shadow Odyssey (PC)

EverQuest II: The Shadow Odyssey review (PC)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

EverQuest II has fought hard to redeem itself from the hollow shell it once was, and it’s made this possible by dumping uncountable options right into the lap of the player. Returning players will find an extension of worth and new players have found a great tie to jump in.
EmP's avatar
Mushroom Men: Rise of the Fungi (DS)

Mushroom Men: Rise of the Fungi review (DS)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

That, unfortunately, is where Rise of the Fungi’s problems begin. Most significantly, the level designs just don’t work. One could argue that they feature the same amount of platforms and climbable objects as any other game in the genre, but what stands out here is their inability to make things clear. There’s a map displayed on the top screen – or the bottom screen, it loves to flip-flop – but that doesn’t help when a gap is hard to view, when a platform is unusually hard to reach, or when the required task feels impossible to complete due to a technical flaw that only luck can overcome.
louis_bedigian's avatar
The Office (PC)

The Office review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

You wanna know why I purchased The Office? I was blown away that a developer went out of their way to create a video game based on a comedy taking place in an office building. I just had to get it. So, coming into the game, I didn't have any high expectations, I just simply wanted to know how the hell it played.
pickhut's avatar
Kung Fu Panda (Xbox 360)

Kung Fu Panda review (X360)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

As one of those older gamers, the main thing I enjoyed about this game was its level design. While the stages were all fairly short and very linear, there was a lot of variety. In one level, I was scaling a mountain while not only fighting off constant attacks by a gang of gorillas, but also dodging a non-stop barrage of rocks being flung towards me by their commander. A little bit later, I found myself having to prevent hordes of wolves from destroying all the relics in the abode of the Furious Five.
overdrive's avatar
Final Fantasy IV (DS)

Final Fantasy IV review (DS)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

Final Fantasy IV DS is not a new game, nor does it pretend to be original. As with many of Square Enix's re-releases of older titles, it is aimed primarily at the nostalgia factor for those of us who were old enough to play it the first time around (and, were it human, Final Fantasy IV will be old enough to vote next year.) However, even if you didn't play it as a wee small thing back when it was on the Super Nintendo and it was called Final Fantasy II, there's still plenty here for you if you like challenging gameplay and well-executed stories.
lassarina's avatar
Big Bang Mini (DS)

Big Bang Mini review (DS)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

I’ve learnt to destroy heat-seeking cod skeletons with fireworks. Now excuse me while I save the world.
EmP's avatar
Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure (DS)

Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure review (DS)

Reviewed on January 13, 2009

Sugar and spice and all things nice. That's what little girls are made of, and this game might seem as if it has been designed for girls only. The heroine, Cornet, is a horn-playing 16 year old lass who falls in love with a Prince; her constant companion is a pretty doll that speaks, called Kururu; and when she has to fight monsters her main attack spells are made of cake or pancakes! In fact, even the the kingdom of Marl is ruled by a queen, and the story revolves around a witch called Marjoly,...
threetimes's avatar
B-Boy (PSP)

B-Boy review (PSP)

Reviewed on January 13, 2009

Usually, a title in the music genre churns out a set routine, and you dutifully follow along as best you can. But breakdancing is about creativity and expression, so it's no surprise that a game featuring this art steps out of the typical music mold. B-Boy lets you dictate the performance, delivering an opportunity to develop your own style. And it does it all with a sharp appearance and streetwise attitude.
woodhouse's avatar
Theresia (DS)

Theresia review (DS)

Reviewed on January 13, 2009

There are no zombies after your brains, no monsters trying to chop you up, no aliens intent on mass reproduction, and no battles. Yet Theresia is a fascinating (point and click) horror adventure, that kept me playing for hours at a time, until I had uncovered all its secrets and reached the very satisfying ending of two complex stories.
threetimes's avatar
Animal Crossing: City Folk (Wii)

Animal Crossing: City Folk review (WII)

Reviewed on January 10, 2009

Australian's buying this game should beware - the much advertised transfer of your Animal Crossing Wild World character to this new game will not work. Why? Because our version of the DS game was a re-labled US version. While the DS games have region codes, it usually doesn't matter because it isn't region locked. Nintendo of Australia took a shortcut a few years ago, and this means that PAL copies of Animal Crossing "Let's Go To The City" will not recognise our copies of Wild World.
jerec's avatar
Yggdra Union (PSP)

Yggdra Union review (PSP)

Reviewed on January 10, 2009

The game's subtitle has always been “We'll Never Fight Alone.” In this PSP port of Yggdra Union, you're just a little less forsaken. A few new characters expand your party and the ways to navigate through the adventure. Larger armies subtly change the dynamics of battle. Additional methods of restoring life make it a hair more forgiving than the GBA original. However, Yggdra Union is still a methodical, exacting strategy game that unmercifully punishes any mistake. It walks a...
woodhouse's avatar
Lumines Supernova (PlayStation 3)

Lumines Supernova review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 10, 2009

Each stage is played in a series of “skins.” These skins make up a background and a musical track. Every time you do anything, whether it be moving a block or erasing a stack, the music reacts. the background pulses and shifts. As you stay alive, the skin changes, so that playing the game becomes less an attempt to get lots of points and more an attempt to stay alive to see as many interesting skins as possible.
zippdementia's avatar
Valkyria Chronicles (PlayStation 3)

Valkyria Chronicles review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 09, 2009

Valkyria Chronicles looks like a water color painting in motion. Whoever made this artistic decision is a genius, because watercolors make anything look amazing, whether it be a stream or a pile of rocks, and here you’re seeing whole countrysides and full out warfare. The baleful music and the beautiful art blend together to create a nostalgic feel that leaves you coming back for the same broken mechanics and repetitious dialogue.
zippdementia's avatar
Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure (DS)

Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure review (DS)

Reviewed on January 09, 2009

Every once in a while, something will come along and completely blow me away and surprise me by its quality. Video games tend to do this every so often, and recently I was witness to this very phenomenon occurring. There was a game released for the Sony Playstation a while back named Rhapsody, a cute strategy RPG game that got by on its musical charm and unique storyline.
psychopenguin's avatar
Meteos Wars (Xbox 360)

Meteos Wars review (X360)

Reviewed on January 08, 2009

When I first started playing this game, I felt like I was being dropped into the fastest level of Tetris with no warning. While I now feel I've gotten the hang of things, it still moves fast enough to demand all my concentration in order to top my computer opponent. While each contest only lasts three minutes, that time seems an eternity as I frantically try to keep from being overwhelmed by the blocks quickly filling my side of the screen, while attempting to craft large enough combos to put the computer in a world of hurt.
overdrive's avatar
Final Fight Guy (SNES)

Final Fight Guy review (SNES)

Reviewed on January 07, 2009

What the player actually gets is the exact same game as the original SNES version with one difference — Cody is gone and replaced with Guy. Yep, that’s it. The fourth level doesn't find its way back into the game and there still is no two-player mode. But, uh, you do get to play with Guy and that has to amount to something, right?
overdrive's avatar
Braid (Xbox 360)

Braid review (X360)

Reviewed on January 07, 2009

it’s like Wardner meets Prince of Persia, with time travel shenanigans.
JANUS2's avatar
TrackMania DS (DS)

TrackMania DS review (DS)

Reviewed on January 06, 2009

The sulky shot soon turned into a toast. I have no idea how the Scots at Firebrand have managed it, but Trackmania DS is a triumph. I can’t help feel this may have been to spite me.
EmP's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.