Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Penumbra: Overture (PC)

Penumbra: Overture review (PC)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

Overture is a slightly uncomfortable amalgamation of half-finished ideas, but, when it's at its best, it's surprisingly brilliant. If it were a little more inventive beyond its physics engine, and a little less clunky in its mechanics, we could be dealing with an indie classic. As it stands, it's merely an engaging and impressively frightening way to pass an uneventful afternoon.
Lewis's avatar
Afro Samurai (PlayStation 3)

Afro Samurai review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

It [Afro Samurai] may not be the masterpiece it could or even should be, but it's still one of the better games of its kind to come along in awhile.
MrDurandPierre's avatar
1080 Snowboarding (Nintendo 64)

1080 Snowboarding review (N64)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

1080° Snowboarding is a racer and an extreme sports game, but it is never both of those things at the same time, and it doesn’t fare too well with either.
Suskie's avatar
X-Com: UFO Defense (PlayStation)

X-Com: UFO Defense review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 19, 2009

X-Com gives you quite the daunting task to undertake in saving the entire world from invasion. But despite the many challenges it presents, playing it is an enormously rewarding experience that, even in this day and age, has yet to be truly replicated.
EmP's avatar
Yoshi's Story (Nintendo 64)

Yoshi's Story review (N64)

Reviewed on February 19, 2009

It says a lot when, after a few replays, I am able to beat Yoshi’s Story in under a half hour, without taking any damage whatsoever.
Suskie's avatar
Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad (Xbox 360)

Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad review (X360)

Reviewed on February 19, 2009

I remembered it as if it happened a few hours ago. Because it actually happened a few hours ago. My character was in a dark room, all alone... then, suddenly, it happened. A zombie walked out from the left side of the screen, then another, and two more after that. Of course, I just couldn't stand around and do nothing, so I took control of my character and guided her towards the undead. With her sword already drawn, she sliced through them like it was nothing. The threat was over... but not for ...
pickhut's avatar
Rocket: Robot on Wheels (Nintendo 64)

Rocket: Robot on Wheels review (N64)

Reviewed on February 19, 2009

Developing a game specifically for the N64 was a move that could be viewed as either reckless or cunning. The system’s inability to rise out the shadow of the more commercially successful PSX meant that any exclusive games would have a limited reach by default, but then a good game has a better chance of garnering attention in an altogether less eventful library. Rocket: Robot on Wheels effectively turns both of those theories upside down. It fits squarely into the platformer categ...
Suskie's avatar
Red Faction (PC)

Red Faction review (PC)

Reviewed on February 18, 2009

So here's the thing.
Lewis's avatar
Dragon Blaze (Arcade)

Dragon Blaze review (ARC)

Reviewed on February 18, 2009

Dragon Shot enemies for gold coins.
JANUS2's avatar
LocoRoco 2 (PSP)

LocoRoco 2 review (PSP)

Reviewed on February 18, 2009

As you work through each stage, you'll find that you don't actually control the slime. Instead, you can slightly tilt the perspective to the right or left using the PSP's shoulder buttons. This simple mechanic works very well, mostly because fleet-footed hazards are non-existent in the world of LocoRoco 2. Sliding about like an egg yolk in a frying pan wouldn't work if Mario-style jumps were required, but that's seldom the case here. Instead, the focus is on general movements.
honestgamer's avatar
ShellShock 2: Blood Trails (Xbox 360)

ShellShock 2: Blood Trails review (X360)

Reviewed on February 17, 2009

Here's the set-up. You're an American soldier in Vietnam. You ain't never been so scared in your life, the title screen informs you. And then, suddenly, you're in a building filled with smoke, and some dispicable army veteran starts being racist about the Vietnamese, mumbles something about a chemical called Whiteknight turning everyone into zombies, and then your infected friend grabs you and pleads for his life. And then you flash back to another point in time, in a near-identical building filled with smoke, an arbitrary objective appears on-screen, and I wish it had stopped there because I might have looked upon ShellShock 2 more favourably if it had done.
Lewis's avatar
RapeLay (PC)

RapeLay review (PC)

Reviewed on February 17, 2009

If you aren't a perv familiar with Illusion's games, you don't have any business reviewing their games. Seriously. It's like asking a male mysogynic gay chauvinist to write about fem lib: if you think you're going to get the objective truth, I have some beachfront property to sell you.
Trucidation's avatar
Syberia (DS)

Syberia review (DS)

Reviewed on February 17, 2009

Even for people like me, who never played the original, there was a sense that something was terribly wrong. The feeling was so strong that I did some research and discovered that not only had all of the voice overs been cut out, more than half of the dialogue had been removed from the port.
zippdementia's avatar
Retro Game Challenge (DS)

Retro Game Challenge review (DS)

Reviewed on February 16, 2009

Retro Game Challenge features eight games in all. That doesn't sound like much, and in some ways it isn't. After all, we've seen compilations of classic games that boasted three, four... even seven or eight times that number. Keep in mind, though, that these are original efforts. More importantly, they're original efforts that—for the most part—are fun to play today while still retaining that distinct retro flavor (including a score tally that mentions how many objects you shooted and an innkeeper that asks you if you feel asleep).
honestgamer's avatar
Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine (Wii)

Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine review (WII)

Reviewed on February 15, 2009

Curse you, Bobby Flay! No disrespect to the other illustrious Iron Chefs of America. Mario Batali is a preeminent expert on authentic Italian cuisine. Cat Cora's distinctive style originates from her Greek and Southern roots. Masuharu Morimoto is a master of all things Japanese, having held his position of Iron Chef in that country's version of the show as well. And Michael Symon, well, he's too new to be sorely missed. But Chef Flay appears first in this pantheon of culinary greatness. H...
woodhouse's avatar
EA Playground (Wii)

EA Playground review (WII)

Reviewed on February 15, 2009

“Includes Dodgeball!” exclaims the cover of EA Playground. I guess in grade school, we all enjoyed pummeling our peers, especially that distinctive thunk of rubber meeting face. However, dodgeball isn't the best game in this bunch, just the most recognizable. This title features seven events in all, but with mixed results. Some really capitalize on originality and simple controls. Others, though, are too basic to really keep you engaged.
woodhouse's avatar
BlackSite: Area 51 (PlayStation 3)

BlackSite: Area 51 review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 15, 2009

Blacksite: Area 51 is just another shooter. You’ve played this game before; you’ve played it better and you‘ve played it worse, but this doesn’t change the fact that, as a title, it simply exists.
EmP's avatar
Castlequest (NES)

Castlequest review (NES)

Reviewed on February 13, 2009

My hero began the game with a whopping 50 lives and there are TONS of vials scattered through the castle worth one bonus life each. However, each life is naught but a fleeting moment in Castlequest's.....uhhh...castle. I found that out in the very first room. I grabbed the blue key right next to me, used it to open the nearby blue door (keys only open doors of their color) and jumped to a ledge right above me. There was an enemy here, so I prepared to stab him with my really tiny sword. Before I could get close enough to complete this task, he fired an arrow at me and I died.
overdrive's avatar
Tonic Trouble (Nintendo 64)

Tonic Trouble review (N64)

Reviewed on February 13, 2009

It’s rare for me to be offended by bad character design, but Tonic Trouble’s protagonist makes me want to shoot somebody.
Suskie's avatar
Swagman (PlayStation)

Swagman review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 12, 2009

What a strange combination. An E (everyone from the age of three upwards) rated game, only released in Europe on the PS1 and Saturn, that was developed by CORE as the game they made after the first Tomb Raider enjoyed such phenomenal success. It features eight year old twins who collect bugs (the insect kind), turn into monsters, and when they are not in monster form, try to defeat Scallywags using the doughty weapons of a torch and a yo-yo. They spend much of their time falling into the Abyss a...
threetimes's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.