Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Wizard's Crown (Apple II)

Wizard's Crown review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 22, 2009

Well before sports websites existed, I loved live box-scores. The top-down RPG Wizard's Crown used a feature called Quick Combat. Easy fights required no work. Tough battles could see-saw with each combatant knocked unconscious. I'd cheer as the chief enemy went down or groan as he killed my last three players. Sometimes my super fighter with the Frost Greatsword held off the last four enemies. Or I'd gain an important magic item and forget how morale loss affected my party, making for a ...
aschultz's avatar
Underwater Attack (DS)

Underwater Attack review (DS)

Reviewed on November 20, 2009

As is usually the case when taking down entire world-conquering governments, the task falls to a single person piloting a prototype fighter who’s expected to defeat a globe-spanning military without a sniff of support. Underwater Attack‘s big gimmick is that, instead of the solitary fighter craft taking to the skies, you instead pilot a lonely submarine through the surprisingly un-murky depths. A submarine shaped like a cartoon shark.
EmP's avatar
Fallen Earth (PC)

Fallen Earth review (PC)

Reviewed on November 20, 2009

Easily dismissed at first glance as a Massively Multiplayer Fallout clone, no simple comparison can really do Fallen Earth justice.
frankaustin's avatar
Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time (PlayStation 3)

Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 19, 2009

The hunt for more weapons is one of the things that should keep you busy playing A Crack in Time. There actually aren't all that many unique locations to explore, but taking the paths less traveled can take awhile and prove worthwhile because you never know when you might find some new modification for your weapons. The gear that you might find serves as a practical reason to travel to every last nook and cranny. With such an excellent array of weapons, you won't want to miss a thing.
honestgamer's avatar
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (Xbox 360)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on November 18, 2009

As I write this, I am giddy with delight. I’ve just beaten Modern Warfare 2 for the third time in the week since its release, and I want to tell you everything about it. I want to tell you about the twist one-third of the way through the story that puts a devastating and far more personal touch on the war against the Russian Ultranationalists. I want to tell you about the controversial assignment in which players go undercover as one of the head villain's cronies and are forced to answer ...
Suskie's avatar
Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood (PC)

Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood review (PC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

It’s rarely a chore to play through. The short length helps that, and the restrictive nature of the game world and its neatly intertwined objectives only contributes to the tightness. It raises plenty of smiles. But when it’s essentially becoming the same episode stuck on repeat ad nauseum, how much praise is it reasonable to lavish?
Lewis's avatar
inFAMOUS (PlayStation 3)

inFAMOUS review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

I was always a fan of the Ultimate Spiderman game. Even after I finished it, I would start it up simply for the purpose of jumping off high buildings and web-slinging away at the last minute. It was pure, unadulterated fun. I could not wait, then, when I heard of inFamous. Having invested roughly thirty hours in the game, I can say those comparisons are warranted in some respects and not so much in others.
CptnMayhem's avatar
Stratovox (Arcade)

Stratovox review (ARC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

Historians will note that Stratovox was the first game to use synthesized voice. Long forgotten behind this trivia is the unforgiving game time forgot. My initial impression of Stratovox, you ask?
LowerStreetBlues's avatar
Antarctic Adventure (Colecovision)

Antarctic Adventure review (CVN)

Reviewed on November 16, 2009

Konami's Antarctic Adventure is a devilishly challenging title, an addicting yet frustrating arctic hustle content to be as cold as the icy continent. Tasked with visiting arctic bases under the strictest of time constraints, the plucky Penta the Penguin will have his hands full dodging fissures in the ice and smiling sea lions all along his way. Both happen to be harmless. Sea lions pop out of fishing holes only to send Penta back a few paces while any icy crevice is shallow enough to...
LowerStreetBlues's avatar
Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim (PC)

Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim review (PC)

Reviewed on November 15, 2009

Earlier this year I previewed Majesty 2. Back then I praised its novelty and commented on how the revolutionary management system could signal a whole new type of simulation-strategy game. There were moments where I felt like a massively multiplayer community director – assigning quests and handing out rewards to heroes. This made the title drastically different to other titles in the same genre and a pleasure to play. The whole preview was based on the concept that you don't truly control your kingdom's inhabitants and instead you recruit them at specifically-designed guilds. Then you simply allow them to roam free around the land. I found this to be a fascinating element and was the key reason behind me enjoying the beta so much. This unique feel has thankfully been carried through to the full version.
Melaisis's avatar
Demon's Souls (PlayStation 3)

Demon's Souls review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 15, 2009

The castle reeks of death. The path leading up to the main gate is littered with corpses. Maggoty, stinking bags of flesh left to rot where they fell. The horses, too. Their bodies were ripped open, with their loads and carts broken on the cobblestone. The crows are already at their flesh; pickings in Boletaria have been very good lately. The inside of the castle is worse. That gaping entrance leads into a seemingly endless black abyss, as if it were the mouth of some otherworldly beast. ...
disco's avatar
7 Wonders II (DS)

7 Wonders II review (DS)

Reviewed on November 14, 2009

There’s enough going on to ensure that 7 Wonders 2 is more than just another gem-matching puzzle game, but it doesn’t really build upon its unique traits enough to truly distinguish itself from the crowded masses. There’s enough going on to drive you through the entire game, but, once this is done, there’s little to drive you back again.
EmP's avatar
Brutal Legend (Xbox 360)

Brutal Legend review (X360)

Reviewed on November 14, 2009

Despite some high points, Brutal Legend doesn't take the concept anywhere meaningful, ends abruptly, and ultimately feels like the developers didn't know what they wanted to accomplish. The game reminded me of an inspirational era in music. Now that I've been reminded, I wouldn't mind if someone channels that inspiration into gaming.
zigfried's avatar
Revelations: The Demon Slayer (Game Boy Color)

Revelations: The Demon Slayer review (GBC)

Reviewed on November 13, 2009

Take SMT: Nocturne for example: in this game, you're alone. Without your monstrous allies, you'll be quickly overwhelmed. Here, it doesn't take long to gain one HUMAN ally and a second joins shortly after that. The monsters are more of a novelty than a necessity, as I never really needed their help to do anything in this game. And with many of them being more along the lines of "typical RPG beastie" than "SUPER-AWESOME GOD OF THUNDER", I didn't miss their presence.
overdrive's avatar
Borderlands (Xbox 360)

Borderlands review (X360)

Reviewed on November 12, 2009

Borderlands was a very anticipated game that alot of people couldn't wait for. I was one of them. For a first person shooter/RPG, it was definitely worth the wait.
Xyandar's avatar
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (Xbox 360)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on November 12, 2009

As I ran through the buildings of a bombed out city, I saw one of my comrades fallen and lying in the field. As explosions rattled the structure around us, another soldier lifted the wounded man's body by the arms and began to drag him toward safety... until another bullet cut the hero down mid-stride. It was a set of events that I didn't have to watch. There was no cumbersome cutscene, no prerecorded dialog. It was just one of many such moments so typical of that level and many others, a moment made memorable precisely because no undue attention was called to it.
honestgamer's avatar
Need for Speed SHIFT (PlayStation 3)

Need for Speed SHIFT review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 11, 2009

Those who have been listening to the hype should be well aware of EA’s intent to push the series deeper into simulation gaming. But this doesn’t mean that SHIFT is going to compete with Forza and Gran Turismo – far from it. In fact, the game is somewhat of an arcade/simulation mix that could appeal to gamers who were never quite satisfied with the work of Turn 10 Studios and Polyphony Digital.
louis_bedigian's avatar
NHL 2K10 (Xbox 360)

NHL 2K10 review (X360)

Reviewed on November 11, 2009

NHL 2K10 is a flawed sequel. It doesn’t elevate the franchise in the way you may have hoped or expected, nor does it present a package that you haven’t already seen and played a year ago. But don’t skate away just yet – while this might not be the must-have sports game of the season, it is anything but unplayable.
louis_bedigian's avatar
MagnaCarta 2 (Xbox 360)

MagnaCarta 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on November 11, 2009

Those who are willing to set jaded prejudices to the side and play along with MagnaCarta 2's ambitions will find a world of passionate youth and unfeeling beasts, wrapped up in a conflict that's not really about good versus evil. It's a study on the concept of sacrifice for the supposed greater good; national leaders are quick to sacrifice others while the idle populace, safely watching the war from home, praise their heroes' noble deaths.
zigfried's avatar
Naruto: Ninja Destiny (DS)

Naruto: Ninja Destiny review (DS)

Reviewed on November 10, 2009

A quick character like Neji can blitz his light attacks, scraping his opponent off the ground by chaining together the same rudimentary combo over and over. However, a similar approach for Sakura results in weak, worthless slaps. Only by hammering her heavy punches can you beat down the AI with your eyes closed.
woodhouse's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.