Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by Suskie and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Quattro Adventure (NES)

Quattro Adventure review (NES)

Reviewed on January 28, 2008

I was tempted to call Quattro Adventure a “compilation” until I realized what exactly that word implies. This long-forgotten (if it was ever remembered in the first place) NES title features four full-length games. I think of a compilation as being a re-release of a number of old titles that are either classics or overlooked potential classics that need an audience. Thing is, Quattro’s four titles were never released in any other form, because, as you may have guessed, they ...
Final Fantasy VIII (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy VIII review (PSX)

Reviewed on January 23, 2008

For all the effort Square put into making Final Fantasy VIII’s plot interesting, it failed to trigger the emotional fireworks within me for one simple reason: I didn’t care.
Vexx (GameCube)

Vexx review (GCN)

Reviewed on January 21, 2008

Whether you know it or not, you’ve played Vexx before in other forms. We all have. This is one of those games that rips off every other game of its genre that came before it and contributes nothing of its own. It contains no original ideas, no memorable characters, no real entertainment value… no conceivable reason for even existing other than to make money, which it won’t because no one would buy a game like this. I hesitate to call the game “bad,” yet I have no idea who to recomm...
Halo 3 (Xbox 360)

Halo 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on January 17, 2008

Halo 3 has plenty of amazing moments, but one of my favorites occurred in the game’s first half as I was fighting off Covenant defenses in war-torn Africa in a desperate attempt to destroy that thing our adversaries are digging up, that mysterious thing that the Covenant have managed to uncover from beneath the Earth’s surface, that thing that we all saw in the game’s announcement trailer a couple of years ago. I led my team of marines into a garage where we were able...
MX vs ATV Untamed (Xbox 360)

MX vs ATV Untamed review (X360)

Reviewed on January 16, 2008

Whereas I found that the motocross tracks were so tight and narrow that I spent too much time braking and turning to actually pick up the pace and have fun, the ATV courses really take the weight off and give me more time to appreciate some of the simpler pleasures of off road racing.
Xenogears (PlayStation)

Xenogears review (PSX)

Reviewed on January 12, 2008

Stop me if you’ve heard this one before.
Vay (Sega CD)

Vay review (SCD)

Reviewed on December 21, 2007

Like many RPGs, Vay begins with an ancient legend, told in full voiceover, that is sure to become relevant to the main character’s goals as he struggles to overcome insurmountable evil.
Gears of War (Xbox 360)

Gears of War review (X360)

Reviewed on December 16, 2007

In a post-Halo gaming world that lives, breathes and runs on futuristic shooters, you can tell Gears of War has entirely different plans the moment you take first control of main character Marcus Fenix and realize that, in addition to the rare third-person perspective, the game has no aiming reticle.
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP)

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories review (PSP)

Reviewed on December 01, 2007

You know what I hate about the Grand Theft Auto series? The damn cops.
Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones (Xbox)

Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones review (XBX)

Reviewed on November 17, 2007

Every once in a great while, I get the feeling developers are actually listening to us.
Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (Xbox)

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time review (XBX)

Reviewed on November 10, 2007

If you’re big on shooters (or really, any game that relies on constant, intense action to keep the player, um, playing), you’ll probably be familiar with the common scenario I’m about to unravel. Say you’re playing a game that really gives you an adrenaline rush. It’s got lots of guns, blood, explosions, all that good stuff. No matter how exciting that game is, there will come a point – more than once, usually – when the weapons are briefly stowed for “quieter” segments, usually involving some o...
The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass (DS)

The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass review (DS)

Reviewed on October 13, 2007

You Nintendo bastards. You think you can take over the world with your touch screens and your motion-sensitive remotes? This battle against the conventions of gaming has raged on for years, and now look what you’ve done. You’ve dragged Zelda into this mess. Haven’t you reanimated enough familiar franchises as is? Can’t you give it a rest? You can do whatever you want to Kirby and Metroid, but not Zelda, man! LEAVE MY ZELDA ALONE!
BreakThru! (SNES)

BreakThru! review (SNES)

Reviewed on October 06, 2007

Despite what you may think, BreakThru is, in fact, not a game about falling blocks.
King's Knight (NES)

King's Knight review (NES)

Reviewed on September 17, 2007

It’s called King’s Knight. It was made by Square. And it’s got all manner of wizards, warriors, monsters, and magical spells! Surely this is an epic RPG, rich with complex character development and deep old-school gameplay!
Mega Man Legends (PlayStation)

Mega Man Legends review (PSX)

Reviewed on September 14, 2007

Contrary to popular opinion, first impressions aren’t everything.
Trauma Center: Under the Knife (DS)

Trauma Center: Under the Knife review (DS)

Reviewed on September 07, 2007

My first patient in Trauma Center: Under the Knife was named Kevin Turk. He was riding a motorcycle when he suddenly lost control of the vehicle and crashed through a glass door. The accident left him with lacerations in his upper right arm, and they were starting to hemorrhage. The man also had shards of glass lodged deep within his right shoulder. This procedure would require me to remove all foreign objects from his skin, and then suture up any wounds.
Kid Icarus (NES)

Kid Icarus review (NES)

Reviewed on August 29, 2007

There is no doubt you have heard the phrase, “Whatever goes up must come down.” Yet in Kid Icarus, there is only one direction, and it’s up. There is no such thing as down in Kid Icarus.
Demon Sword (NES)

Demon Sword review (NES)

Reviewed on August 22, 2007

The main character of Demon Sword is a ninja named Victar. I don't know much about him, but I do know one thing: He's cool. Or, at least, that's what the game wants you to think. The game wants you to believe that Victar is tough and all-powerful, that he can do anything, because ninjas are just that cool. And this attitude is reflected in the title screen. Observe.
Ninja Gaiden (Xbox)

Ninja Gaiden review (XBX)

Reviewed on August 18, 2007

Ninja Gaiden is a mean game. The enemies you encounter are absolute ass-kicking, in-your-face, unforgiving, top-of-the-line butt-whooping badasses, and they know nothing but your demise. So determined are they to bring about your end that I received the impression that the game itself was out to get me. The free-floating sense of hostility I picked up from Ninja Gaiden is so extreme that I’m somewhat surprised the load screens don’t say, “Loading, bitch!”
Tetris DS (DS)

Tetris DS review (DS)

Reviewed on August 09, 2007

I've said before that Tetris is one of the few games that will never, EVER get old. I stand by that statement, and no matter how many times countless developers will try to reinvent it to make more money, the basic, primitive game of Tetris is probably all we'll need.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2019 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.