Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by JoeTheDestroyer and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Advanced Dungeons & Dragons: Heroes of the Lance (NES)

Advanced Dungeons & Dragons: Heroes of the Lance review (NES)

Reviewed on July 12, 2012

In Heroes of the Lance, traveling was more like wandering. I had no idea where I was at any point, where I was going, or how I was going to get to the unknown goal. I'd try a random door and hope what was beyond it didn't massacre my party. From there I'd try another random door, and another, and another in the hopes of reaching the mysterious goal.
Monster Party (NES)

Monster Party review (NES)

Reviewed on July 09, 2012

[Monster Party] pales in comparison to other side-scrollers on the NES; games that feature brilliant levels, stiff challenges, and epic 8-bit boss battles. Sadly, little of that appears in Monster Party.
Master Chu and the Drunkard Hu (NES)

Master Chu and the Drunkard Hu review (NES)

Reviewed on July 06, 2012

Here's a game where Color Dreams stepped up a little bit, but ultimately fell back into their old nasty habits. They curbed their weakness for ripoffs with unstable play control, but ultimately still gave us a game that isn't at all pleasing to play.
Air Fortress (NES)

Air Fortress review (NES)

Reviewed on July 04, 2012

Air Fortress came to life when it thrust me into desperate situations while inside the fortress itself. Forget the blending of genres. The blend of isolation, claustrophobia, tension, panic, and the fear that you might not have enough energy to survive was the real mixture this game thrived on.
Kickle Cubicle (NES)

Kickle Cubicle review (NES)

Reviewed on July 02, 2012

It's like the developers spent more time making it look cute and less time developing a challenging puzzler. I don't know if the toned down challenge was intentional, what with the cutesy atmosphere and all, but it sure as hell wasn't welcome.
Onyanko Town (NES)

Onyanko Town review (NES)

Reviewed on June 30, 2012

It's a simple arcade-style game that would work great in small sessions, if not for its shortcomings.
Captain Skyhawk (NES)

Captain Skyhawk review (NES)

Reviewed on June 29, 2012

Rare's invitation to play and keep playing is what makes the game worthwhile. It's not only a charming and fun title, but you can tell the developers wanted you to keep playing and enjoy the time you spend.
Journey (PlayStation 3)

Journey review (PS3)

Reviewed on June 25, 2012

I'm not going to say I didn't enjoy Journey. That would be a bold-faced lie. I guess what I'm saying is that I enjoyed it, but could have enjoyed it more.
Dragon Power (NES)

Dragon Power review (NES)

Reviewed on June 22, 2012

...this is an action game where you benefit from avoiding combat.
Titan Quest (PC)

Titan Quest review (PC)

Reviewed on June 20, 2012

Titan Quest is an exciting bash across ancient lands. Very little about this game is innovative. Rather than experimenting with new concepts, Iron Lore took familiar ones and refined them. They knew what kind of game they were making. They didn't overload it with pretentious storytelling or bits of narrative that demean the action.
Amagon (NES)

Amagon review (NES)

Reviewed on June 16, 2012

Amagon is a laborious run ‘n gun adventure with little to nothing to justify the workman-like experience. It’s so much easier to just call it a “waste of time.”
Isolated Warrior (NES)

Isolated Warrior review (NES)

Reviewed on June 13, 2012

Isolated Warrior always leaves me with a heavy heart. It's a great game unfortunately trapped within a decent game. Had Kid left the platformer elements out, it would have been excellent. I can admire their desire for innovation, but innovation is not inherently a good quality.
Bubble Bath Babes (NES)

Bubble Bath Babes review (NES)

Reviewed on June 08, 2012

That describes Bubble Bath Babes: yet another dull puzzle game fused together with yet another unsexy piece of gaming erotica. If I can say anything positive, it's that Babes is not complete dreck like the porn games on Atari 2600 or Commodore 64. Really, though, that's much of a compliment.
Deus Ex (PC)

Deus Ex review (PC)

Reviewed on June 02, 2012

The tech-noir feel can be cheesy at times, and the visuals are dated, but the game is still great. Here's a game that's versatile enough to allow you to play how you want. Here's a title filled with cleverly designed levels, special skills and a variety of gadgets that help meld the game to your playing style. Maybe it's not as relevant today as it was in 2000, and maybe it's an eyesore, but it's definitely still an exciting title.
Orcs & Elves (DS)

Orcs & Elves review (DS)

Reviewed on May 31, 2012

The developers brought us old school style, but left out the substance. The end result is a game that feels more antiquated than it should. It's funny because this game is only five years old and it's already aged worse than many of the other rat maze RPGs it pays homage to.
EvilQuest (Xbox 360)

EvilQuest review (X360)

Reviewed on May 24, 2012

Once the shock that I was playing a wanna-be retro title wore off, all that was left was a basic, by the books action RPG. As Rotten Tomatoes likes to say, it was a genre exercise.
No Escape! (Atari 2600)

No Escape! review (A2600)

Reviewed on May 17, 2012

I found myself playing session after session, hopelessly addicted to something so archaic, so simplistic. The furious pace and wicked challenge kept things interesting, and the peculiar enemy designs piqued my interest. I had to see what abomination awaited me in the next round, had to know what abilities it brought to the battle. Most of all, I had to know if I was good enough to survive.
Tutankham (Atari 2600)

Tutankham review (A2600)

Reviewed on May 16, 2012

The adventurous moments, the challenge, the action... those are things I remember. It's not that they aren't present, it's just that you have to tolerate a lot of questionable decisions made by the developers. Why can't you shoot vertically? Why sport such drunken play control? Maybe they felt it would have made the game too easy, but I beg to differ. I'm sure they could have found other ways to turn up the challenge.
Atlantis (Atari 2600)

Atlantis review (A2600)

Reviewed on May 14, 2012

Atlantis obeys Atari 2600's golden rule of keeping everything simple while maintaining a fast pace.
Forest (Atari 2600)

Forest review (A2600)

Reviewed on May 12, 2012

This game is the definition of repetition.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher. 1516334049