Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | PC | PS4 | PS5 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | XSX | All

Forums > Contributor Zone > Zipp's (again?) ROTW for May 22-May 29th

Add a new post within this thread...

board icon
Author: zippdementia
Posted: June 01, 2010 (02:37 PM)
Actions: Register for a free user account to post on the forums...

I apologize for the lateness of this ROTW. Work really picked up in my life this past week. Between film, social work, filming for social work, and completing a Masters in Education I'm one busy guy!

I'm happy to report it's all paying off, though. The film is in post and doing well, I've been granted interviews with survivors of a historic asylum, and I've completed my first year of Graduate school with a 4.0, which feels really good considering I graduated undergraduate with a mere 2.6.

The only thing that HASN'T paid off yet is that I need a job this summer. But we'll make it happen. Just like I made this ROTW happen. Maybe a little late, but it's still here.

Let's get honest.

Suskie's Pokemon Soul Silver review

It was only while typing the name of this review that I realized how ridiculous Pokemon game names have become. I'm touched by Suskie's devotion to this series and the manner in which he presents that devotion in this review. I didn't get a chance to read through all the responses to his review, but I personally think he's nailed the frustrations long-time fans have of the series.

I would offer, as explanation for this situation, the fact that Nintendo doesn't often consider long-time fans but has (for years and years and years) been focused on a specific age group. They seem less interested in whether Jimmy, who got into Pokemon when he was 12, will now buy the new pokemon at age 22. They want Joey, now 10, to buy their new pokemon game. If it's a rehash, Joey has no way of knowing or caring. Nintendo doesn't have to do a lot of work and, ostensibly, everyone's happy.